Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1990 4runner fuel line replacement

Old 11-20-2006, 07:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1990 4runner fuel line replacement

I'm not very good at this and my Haynes manual is missing. I see yet another problem with my more-worthless-by-the-day machine: the fuel line is leaking (spewing actually) where it connects at the top of the engine on the passenger side. I'm assuming I will have to replace the line from there down to the fuel filter. Like I said, I know only enough to keep me away from a real mechanic some of the time. Can anyone give any advice on this? Is it something I can do with the usual tools? Is it even something I can do at all, since I don't know what the hell I'm doing? I'm pretty short on money or I'd just take it in. This is only one of about six other serious problems, but I don't think I should operate the thing at all until this is fixed, even if it's a temporary fix just to get it to the shop a few months from now. Thanks for any help.
Old 11-20-2006, 08:36 AM

Can take a pic of the leak and where exactly it is? Or a very detailed description(engine size ??), There is a junction for the fuel line by the frame, accessed thru the front pass wheel well. So you won't be replacing the line to the fuel filter.
Old 11-20-2006, 10:31 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
There is a flexible high pressure fuel line between the fuel rail and the hard line that goes to the filter.

Your 90 4-runner is probably similar to this 93 FSM:
http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...fsm/index.html

Last edited by mt_goat; 11-20-2006 at 10:34 AM.
Old 11-20-2006, 11:46 AM