Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

86 4runner, what do you guys think?

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2013, 11:27 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
86 4runner, what do you guys think?

Ok im totally new to this, I also didnt know where to place this thread so I did my best. ive been looking around at 1st gen 4runners (because they are awesome) and I came across this one.

http://salem.craigslist.org/cto/3953211594.html

I need the truck for camping and hunting and later down the road modding it up. Im not to mechcanically inclined, but im going to try to teach my self, if I buy it I would get the chiltons guide and work on it by myself (not taking it into the shop), what are your guy's opinion? The guy is willing to part ways with her for $2,000 with out the extra part listed in the ad. Shes not pretty and kinda beat up but would she be a good buy or should I hold out and wait for something not as beat up? I also got some close up of some of the problem areas if need be. Thanks for all your help and support.

1stGenYoda
Old 08-19-2013, 11:42 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

I guess there idea of a rough body is quite different then mine!! looks better then all of mine

This is a hard call to make take it for a ride see how it drives

Make sure 4X4 system works both high and low.

It appears well taken care of.

You can`t fault someone for having new parts I understand that all to well

I have seen different driving styles cause things to fail.

You might need to be putting in a clutch replacing the brakes the normal things that need doing.

Has the timing chain been done

Try and find a Factory Service Manual for whatever you end up with.
Old 08-19-2013, 11:47 PM