Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1990 Toyota 4Runner 3VZE vaccum line gas leak??

Old 02-08-2013, 05:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1990 Toyota 4Runner 3VZE vaccum line gas leak??

Hello,
I have a 1990 Yota 4Runner SR5 3.0L 4X4 with the 3VZ-E motor, I have recently replaced the timing belt, the water pump and thermostat, the cam shaft belt tensioner,and the cam shaft belt idler. while I was pulling all of this out I decided to do an EGR & Pair removal, I made sure I marked all of the vacuum lines while removing everything, but following the recommendations from (2) posts about where the vacuum lines go after doing an EGR delete, I believe something isn't right...here is what is going on, after replacing the timing belt, and replacing all of the fluids the 4runner started right up, (I was pretty happy since I am not a mechanic at all) the vehicle runs better then ever, but when I shut it off all I can smell is gas leaking, and I can see it dripping onto the ground, but I cannot find where it is leaking from, my question is could I have put a vacuum line in the wrong place?? what could I have done wrong, any help would be very appreciated...( and hopefully since my last post I will actually get help and not get my post hijacked!)
Old 02-08-2013, 10:51 AM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
The answer would be sure you could have put something back in the wrong spot, Not sure that would make it drain fuel. Go over the placment untill you're certain it's all hooked up correctly. You're the only one that can see it, so unless you can provide good clear pictures (Overview, and details with good light), you're on your own here kinda.

If you can see it on the ground you just need to follow it up to the source. Could be loose or broken connections, or maybe the charcoal can. But those are just guesses, because you didn't mention where you found the puddle.