84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

22r head gasket replacement

Old 03-26-2012, 10:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22r head gasket replacement

Hello everyone... been reading these threads here for years, but haven't ever posted. A friend donated their 1985 pickup (22r late model) to me, and I've decided to try to "fix" it. Do I know what's wrong? Not really! I'm not a mechanic, and I don't know what I'm doing... learning on the fly.

My friend's mechanic told me that the head gasket was blown and I should try some ceramic product to seal it without HG removal. I decided I wanted to learn how to fix a truck and have invested in some tools and parts.

Here is a google album of pictures from the head-dismantling:
https://plus.google.com/photos/11093...44258529424401

Background:
- Muffler+cat fell off (welded joint rusted through and broke) while driving into mechanic's shop (bad omen) in October 2011 --> mechanic diagnosed blown HG --> friend gave up on truck and gave it to me...
- Truck turned on and ran in November 2011, drove it about 500 feet.
- Left it sitting out in the cold with a tank full of gas all winter. Battery was too dead to start engine in early March 2012. Siphoned gas tank and began engine dis-assembly in nice weather.

Problems:
- Coolant has spurted around under the hood and is pooled in odd places. Coolant appears to be in the oil. Oil in the head is tan-colored.
- Water pump appears to be recently replaced. Three of the WP bolts contained string (as in, cotton thread) through them and the gasket. See photo album.
- Flexy-hose connecting underside of air intake (...to I-don't-know-what) was disconnected.
- Right-hand plastic timing chain guide is broken, missing a chunk.
- Everything under the hood is coated in oil. I know this truck and it's been like this for at least four years. This truck has "disappeared" oil and coolant at a moderate rate for years.

More observations: