General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help, dim fog lights

Old 10-21-2011, 05:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Need help, dim fog lights

I bought fog lights from Walmart because I'm cheap. They were $20. I put them on and they were terribly dim. They came with a 55w H3 bulb. I went on eBay and bought a couple 100w H3 bulbs and put those in. Very little difference. It was wired to the ignition so I tried wiring it directly to the battery. No change (I kind of thought so). My dad suggested to wire up a relay, but I thought that would just make it worse. I'm not a wiring expert so I'm not really sure what to do next. If I can't figure out why they're so dim, I'm just gonna take them off smash them with a hammer and buy something better, preferably not from Walmart xD Any suggestions?
Old 10-21-2011, 07:30 AM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Measure the voltage across the bulb terminals when the lamp is on and see what it reads. If that voltage is not within 0.5 volts of the battery, find out why. You can measure the battery "+" terminal to the bulb "+" terminal voltage drop and likewise the battery "-" terminal to the bulb "-" terminal voltage drop. Could be a bad ground or power connection:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...ml#VoltageTest

I run the 100W H3 bulbs in my Hella fog lights and they are much brighter than the old 55W bulbs I used to run.
Old 10-21-2011, 07:44 AM

I didn't think of that. I have them grounded on the lower valance where I have them mounted. That might be the problem :o There is a bolt with a few wires grounded to it up in the engine compartment. Maybe I should try running one up there and see if there's a difference. Thanks!
Old 10-21-2011, 07:53 AM
Contributing Member