Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Zuk Mod (rear suspension sag fix) first impressions- '87 pickup

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2011, 06:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Zuk Mod (rear suspension sag fix) first impressions- '87 pickup

Hey all,
This is not a new mod or anything, but wanted to give my feedback. I recently was able to do the "ZUK" mod to fix the sag in the bed of my truck. Also, I am fairly new to four-wheeling and truck terms, so bear with me

Found all of the info on this site and through a couple of PM's to ZUK and was able to significantly alter the ride of the rear suspension of my '87 Pickup.

What this mod addresses:

For those who are relatively low profile to the site like I am, this mod was named after the member ZUK who introduced it. Many of the older trucks, especially 4runners, are cursed with sagging rear leaf springs. I'm assuming 4runners just have more weight to carry as well as a couple of other small chassis factors that make this especially noticeable, and there are a few different fixes. To name a couple, you can add-a-leaf, get a full new leaf spring set (both of which are likely to sag again) or jam a coil spring in where the bump stop goes. These are the somewhat low cost and low mod factor solutions that I found... I'm sure others have come up with more advanced solutions... I just did the research that I needed to go forward with what I wanted.