Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Installing a Stock Yota Turbo to a 22RE

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2007, 06:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Installing a Stock Yota Turbo to a 22RE

:monkey: Hi evryone. I am new to the YotaTech Forums and I have a few questions regaurding my 1990 SR5 4 Runner that I have just purchased. I bought the truck from a kid about a month ago and after driving it realized it had a blown head gasket. Fortunatley for me it blew to the atmosphere and not into the crankcase. So I pulled the head and discovered that the strange clatter that I had heard while it was running was the timing chain slapping against the timing cover. The head also had a horrible amount of sludge in it when I took the valve cover off. So after debating as to what course I should take on the repair or replacment of my newly aquired 1/4 million mile 22RE, I decided to pull the engine and tear it down. After doing so I discovered that half of both tensioners were no longer bolted the the block, but were in the bottom of the oil pan. Great!!! Here we go again. I am a big Ford fan as that is all that I have owned prior but do to the recent increase in the fuel costs and addition to the family, I have decided to go with a more gas friendly vehicle. I have built a few motors in my short stunt here on planet Earth. Anyways I decided to rebuild the motor and add a turbo as well. I dropped off my stripped block, crank, rods, new timing cover due to the chain wearing a hole into the water passage, and head to my machinist for the rebuild machining. I got the turbo on the mail today. It is a stock Toyota Turbo, I belive it to be a CT20. My current questions are, there is what appears to be a fuel line coming off of the Turbo that is attatched to a rigid flex looking pipe that I think goes to the passenger side of the block. What is the line that looks to be a fuel line? There is also a type of acuator that after some del