Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment Discussions here pertain to vehicle stereo systems and home entertainment systems

New Ported box with pics

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2005, 09:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Ported box with pics

I've been running a sealed box for the last two years or so 1.25 cu ft per chamber. I've always wanted to try a ported box tuned low and finally got to work on one. This is for two Brahma 12" Mk1, 2.5 cu ft @ 30 hz per chamber. I haven't hooked up the subs yet, I plan to do that this weekend, I still need to put the finishing touches on it.

A pic of one of the subs and the old sealed box.

New box construction 1

Carpeting this thing was a pain, my first time doing this, lots of rookie mistakes but in the end I think it turned out ok.

T bolts premounted...

Just thought I'd share.
Old 07-13-2005, 09:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
That is a huge box!!!! Look good though. Are you going to get a trailer to keep it in?

Last edited by Intrepid; 07-13-2005 at 09:42 AM.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:07 AM

Yeah really, that thing is massive.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:08 AM

I got a JL system in my 4Runner. If your putting it in a ride that has back glass and not a trunk I say it should pound.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:17 AM

It is huge!!! I'm gonna break my back getting it in the ride. I have a 97 4runner limited with a 130 lb box in it right now.... I imagine this thing would weigh close to 160ish. All in fun though.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:33 AM

Oh yes. Especially at traffic lights.
Old 07-14-2005, 06:48 PM

you may want a higher tuning freq after you get it installed. I would tell you to play with tuning a bit but your kinda stuck on the tuning thing all you can do is change internal volume with wood blocks or something now.