Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Starter Just clicks!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2007, 11:18 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
JUST A Couple WACKS WITHA FRICKEN HAMMER.....

Originally Posted by PacosTaco
I've done a search and I think I've come up with my best bet, which is just to replace the starter.

What do you folks think it is?

Everything lights up in the truck, no dead battery issues.

The cables are brand new. The starter just clicks and doesn't do anything until after about 10-15 tries. Then it finally gets the urge to start and while in motion, it doesn't sound like its strugging.

Some type of connection issue? I'm not good with electrical and things like that, but I can figure out that my battery isn't dead or dying.

thanks for any help guys

Brandon
Corroded contacts is the issue, FYI DO NOT REPLACE THE STARTER untill you

Give it A Couple WACKS WITH A large FRICKEN HAMMER..... (this is how the russians fix things)
PROBLEM SOLVED.....untill you hit another puddle and corrode the contact again...
THEN just give it another WACK!!

Last edited by icerunner; 12-07-2007 at 11:22 AM.
Old 12-07-2007, 11:30 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Whacking it will only buy you some time. Eventually you wont be able to whack it hard enough to start it. Contacts are $20. Is getting out and hitting your starter with a hammer in the rain, middle of the night, or in the snow worth not paying $20?
Old 12-07-2007, 11:44 AM

I didn't say I was never going to fix it, it's not a problem right now. Worst case is i'm late to class.
Old 12-07-2007, 11:48 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by Adam F
Whacking it will only buy you some time. Eventually you wont be able to whack it hard enough to start it. Contacts are $20. Is getting out and hitting your starter with a hammer in the rain, middle of the night, or in the snow worth not paying $20?
Adam,
20 bucks is not a big deal for new contacts.