Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Seafoam, Marvel Mystery oil, Methanol injection, they really work!

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2012, 05:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I didn't have a tight enough seal so I rigged a pitcher so only a slow trickle came out. I closed up the PCV hose with a narrow funnel (also to keep it from dying). Good to have a fail safe just in case since I couldn't suck it up through a vacuum hose.

I think it was around 2500-3000 RPM, not sure since I was doing it from the engine, not the cab.

Last edited by Gamefreakgc; 12-11-2012 at 05:45 PM.
Old 12-14-2012, 07:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by DRCOFFEE
I have never used MMO before. Gotta say, the packaging looks a bit like snake oil from the 1800's but I am willing to give it a go.

My question though is what's the risk of cleaning the crud so well with MMO that the rear main and camshaft seals start leaking? At 160,000 miles, I won't use Mobil1 oil for fear of creating oil leaks.
I attempted to look this up on Mobil 1's web site; however, they do not address this issue. Therefore, I looked around at other sites. According to Castrol, synthetic oils will not creat oil leaks in older engines...they say this is a "myth"...actually they say its better for the enging and its gaskets and seals.

So, go for it...
Old 12-15-2012, 07:43 AM

A few years back I seafoamed my vette. What I did to restrict a sudden and massive inflow of seafoam was duct tape the straw you typically get with brake cleaner and wd40 to a length of hose and then connected it to the PCV line. That straw is small enough to slow the flow to prevent too much liquid from being ingested. Plus I could sit inside the car and throttle up above 1500 rpm while feeding the seafoam. . It worked well. I think it may help aerosolize the fluid as well.

Last edited by DRCOFFEE; 12-15-2012 at 07:45 AM.
Old 12-15-2012, 07:47 AM
Contributing Member