86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

FasTech's 1986 Pickup Build-Up Thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2010, 07:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FasTech's 1986 Pickup Build-Up Thread

Hello all, I'm new to the fourm but I'm enjoying it so far. I just purchased this 1986 Yota from a good friend of mine's dad. He was the 2nd owner and put tons of money into it while he owned it. The motor took a dump on him and he was in need of money, so I got a super good deal on it.

Cons & Pros:

I'll start with the Con's:

Bad paint. (Faded bed mostly)
Bad motor.
Dash, seat, & carpet have normal wear and tear.

Pros:

31" BF Goodrich all terrain tires. (80% tread all around)
All Rancho Suspension.
All new Poly bushings.
VERY light body damge. (Tailgate is rusted and a slight dent on the lower part of the bed).
Aftermarket wheels. (Any idea's to what brand they are?).

Progress #1:

*Removed motor and did complete tear down. (Bearings were shot.)

I hate all this cluster! I've built 2 Honda's and somehow I want to tuck must of this. Plus, the Weber carb should remove some of those vacumn lines.

Completely tore down and ready for the machine shop.

*Removed bed gaurd. (NO eat-through rust in bed at all.)

*Removed tailgate. Rather not have one at all until I find one with no rust.

ALOT of cleaning with TONS more to go. Truck sat for 3 months without any attention.

Motor Plan List:

*.20 Bore.
*Full master engine rebuild kit.
*NEW rods and crank.
*Torker cam.
*Port and Polish head w/ oversized valves.
*Weber 32/36 carb.
*Pace Setter polished header.

I hope to have this moving along quickly as the engine will be in the machine shop within the next week. So hopefully, I'll have it up and running pretty good before the end of November.

Much more to come. Thanks, FasTech.

Last edited by FasTech; 09-15-2010 at 08:41 AM.
Old 09-14-2010, 07:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
hey man welcome. looks like a good project. good luck on the build