General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wide Range Question from ECU to Oxygen Sensor for early 4runners

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2011, 06:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wide Range Question from ECU to Oxygen Sensor for early 4runners

Firstly, I appreciate all the people who take the time to try and help on this forum. There's so much going on at this site --it's excellent. I'm a forum novice myself so please bear with me if I'm not doing this right.

Ok, where to begin. I have two 1st generation 4runners, a 1986 and a 1988, both 22re, 5sp trucks. They both run, but the 1988 needs either a head gasket or timing cover (it has cappuccino in oil land) and has rust issues. The plan was to combine the best of both trucks to make the 1986 for us, inside and out, and then put the remaining parts back in the '88, fix the motor, and sell it as a beater truck.

The fuse box under the hood of the '86 was cosmetically broken (the guts-- wiring, fuses, relays, are fine) and not only was the '88 fuse box good, but it also had a diagnostic plug in which I figured to be a good idea. Also, the '88 had air conditioning, which I also decided was a good idea for the '86. These two things I decided to swap were how my troubles began.

I discovered that the trucks were NOT identical electrically. I'm still trying to make sense out of what all the connectors are actually for, as the size and shape differ. My question pertains to the ECU and the oxygen sensor.

Do I need to swap the ECU too--and if so, do I need to convert all the sensors, relays, wires, etc. in the truck from the '86 to the '88, or are they interchangeable? Like the '86 has a green box for wiper control, but I did not find that in the '88....