Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Starter or Alternator? Not starting

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2011, 09:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Starter or Alternator? Not starting

OK...so here is my issue.

My 89 4Runner with the 3VZE won't turn over. It gets incredibly close everytime, but just won't get there.

It seems to be draining my battery, as I had to go have it charged yesterday. I put it it in, tried to crank and it just wouldn't get there....the mechanic that looked at it for me a few weeks ago (it was really cold and wouldn't start) told me to keep my foot all the down on the gas so it wouldn't flood engine and just keep trying to turn it over.

That has worked everytime, but now it's stopped working.

HELP!

I am not a mechanic, nor mechanically inclined, and I need this truck to work for me in the cold and snow. It's snowing heavily now and really need to get started up.

Any help that a do it yourselfer could try.....

THANKS
Old 01-26-2011, 09:57 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
take the battery to the parts store and have it tested. If it tests out ok then take the alternator in to have it tested. Prob one of the two. My guess is bad battery. your mechanic gave some goofy advice don't put the gas to the floor when you start it as that will not help if the motor isn't turning over.
Old 01-26-2011, 10:00 AM

OK. I took the battery yesterday and they just said that it needed a charge. They did that, I put it back in, and that's that.

How difficult is it to take out the alternator...never done anything like that before. Where should I go to start?

How much is reasonable for a mechanic to charge for replacing an alternator?

Is this possibly a symptom of poor compression? My mechanic also says my truck is really slow, which I thought was just common to the 3.0 engine and it being a 20 year old truck.

It's awesome in the snow and I got it for a decent price, but I need to figure this out.

Thanks for your help.