Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Repowering 91 yota 4x4 with 1977 20r engine.

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2012, 03:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Repowering 91 yota 4x4 with 1977 20r engine.

Okay so i own a 1991 toyota 4x4 pickup. I've replaced the motor a couple times, i've worked on a 22r before a bit, but im still a newbie. So i've replaced the motor, got everything hooked up. I've still got a few things todo though. I'd like to get the experts opinion on a couple things. Could having the crossmember bolts loose, letting the tranny drop a inch, cause the flywheel to grind on the starter, i'm having a grinding noise sometimes when i try starting after it starts to idle , horrible metal on metal noise from starter. Already burnt through one starter, the one i have is old, but it fits and works , just doesnt look like the gear retracts like the one i had before. I got the truck to idle when pouring gas down the carb, just when i got it all tuned in somewhat were it would idle, my electrical fuel pump stopped working on me, so i ordered one off ebay should be here in a few days, got a regulator set at 1.5-2. Stock carb btw, emissions are plugged just got a few hookedup prolly hooked up wrong. i got the dist vaccum adv, brake booster, and i tried to hookup a few of the vaccums off a diagram i seen for a 79 20r but i think i need some T fittings to connect a couple spots still. The heater hose setup i got is questionable, i did the one hose from the timing cover to the same spot as it was before, but the heater core one is plugged because i got no where for it togo, unless i hook it up to the egr plate on the carb and idk if thats okay? it wont flood the engine with water will it? I believe the truck isnt far off from running but hopefully thats not wishful thinking, its a old motor but i've heard they're tuff. Anyway enough of my ranting, lets hear what yall think. I did take the carb apart and clean it all out mostly. als