Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

New HD Marlin Crawler clutch in, now I can't get into gear... Please help.

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2012, 07:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New HD Marlin Crawler clutch in, now I can't get into gear... Please help.

So this weekend I put my new heavy duty 1600lb clutch kit in from Marlin Crawler. I put in a new Pilot bearing, throwout bearing, and clutch cover at the same time. I also changed the rear main seal while I was in there. I have a new master and slave cylinder in the truck to add to it all.
After the job was done, I realized that the clutch didn't have much resistance so I bled it. I still dont seem to have alot of resistance. It's bled properly and the master cylinder bracket is maxed out to give enough room to engage. When I start the truck, with the clutch in, I cannot get into gear. It grinds if I try to push it hard enough into gear. I'm thinkin that I need a bigger slave clyinder since the factory pressure plate is only 900lbs and the new one is 1600? By the way, it's an 88 toyota pickup 4x4 5spd. Any suggestions as to what could be the problem? Thanks in advance.
Old 07-15-2012, 07:21 PM

Received 302 Likes on 208 Posts
There is an adjustment on the back of the clutch pedal too, have you checked that one out?
Old 07-15-2012, 08:15 PM

That's the one for the master cylinder. Same adjustment as I said was maxed out.
Old 07-15-2012, 08:53 PM
totally a bro
Staff

Received 45 Likes on 28 Posts
Try bleeding the system one more time. Did you have anyproblems before? was the transmission in known good working order? Sometimes people flip the clutch disk and install it wrong.
Old 07-15-2012, 09:01 PM