Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Belt or Tensioner?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2009, 10:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Belt or Tensioner?

So over the last few days i noticed that when i would start my truck up in the morning, i could hear the belt making a lot of noise, but it would go away after about 10 min of driving as it would warm up. Now as of the last 2 days i notice it all the time now especially at idle. How can I tell if its the belt that needs to be changed or the belt tension-er? TOTAL newb question I know, but help me out if you have a heart. Heres my rundown.
2001 SR5 4x4 Taco 86,000 miles, Auto tranny. Thanks!
Old 03-17-2009, 02:49 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
So you have it narrowed down to only two possibilities? Are you sure? What's the noise sound like? Could it be a bearing in either the water pump or one of the idlers, maybe?

Are you sure it's timing belt related and not a noise cause by one of the accessory belts or components? More details needed please.
Old 03-17-2009, 06:59 PM

Originally Posted by GSGALLANT
So you have it narrowed down to only two possibilities? Are you sure? What's the noise sound like? Could it be a bearing in either the water pump or one of the idlers, maybe?

Are you sure it's timing belt related and not a noise cause by one of the accessory belts or components? More details needed please.
Its not that Squeeky cricket sound that water pump stuff usually seems to make. It's a very dry scratchy sound "schhh schhh schhh". When I pop the hood it definitely sounds like its coming from the main belt. Also I have been doing some reading on here and 90,000 miles seems to be the common lifespan everyone on here talks about regarding the main belt. Im at 86,000 so i just kinda figured that might be it. What other component would cause this sound, especially make it sound like its coming from the belt? Thanks!
Old 03-18-2009, 11:43 AM
Contributing Member