Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Wiring Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2023, 03:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wiring Help

I have a '93 Pickup. 22REC. I just got it recently replaced the cylinder head and timing chain, etc. My problem is, I'm a 40 year retired electrician, who didn't look before he leaped/.
Anybody who has been involved with 22RE's has surely noticed Toyota rain a good portion of the wireing harnes through thru intake. manifold. It was quite carbon crusted inside and needed a good cleaning. I thought, NO PROBLEM. I can sort that out. I ordered some weatherproof molex connectors from Amazon, but when I started to wire it up, I noticed 4 wires were bigger than the rest. The bigger wires wouldn't fit in the Molex connectors, so II left them, and figured I could tackle them on engine reassembly.

Today was the day, but when I tore into it, I found out 3 of the wires are shielded wire; they are colored Black, Black w/White, and Black w/Yellow.
Before I screw the pooch here, does anyone know what these wires are for, and why they are shielded? I guess just as big of a help, would;d be a 1993 wiring diagram and I could figure it out for myself.

I have found so many knowledgable people in these forums, l so I didn't think it would hurt to ask,.

TYIA for any help you can provide,
Old 03-10-2023, 06:18 AM

Received 826 Likes on 653 Posts
I don't know much about the 22re, but the 3VZE has shielded wire for the 4-conductor wire from the distributor, the two (California) O2 sensors, and most importantly the knock sensor. (Also the stereo and the ABS brakes, but I doubt you have either.) I would be surprised if the O2 sensors were wired anywhere near the intake.

My EWD doesn't show a color for the shield sheath, but on my knock sensor it's just black.

Sorry I can't be of more help.
Old 03-10-2023, 08:01 AM
YT Community Team

Received 857 Likes on 606 Posts