Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Timing Chain & Cover Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2021, 01:14 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Timing Chain & Cover Replacement

I have started a replacement of my timing cover/chain and related items on my 1990 4Runner 22RE (manual). I have had the problem with broken chain guides that lead to chain eating inside of timing cover and then oil/water mixing. Anyways, I am not a seasoned mechanic (usually do the basics - oil, brakes etc) but can definitely follow instructions to make this repair. I have started the project by following the instructions noted at 4crawler (https://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTr...ingChain.shtml). I am at the point of removing the distributor (step 7) and I just want to make sure I have things right before I move forward (I guess I am a little stressed about getting distributor back in right position and timing correct etc). Anyways, the instruction says to put the engine at TDC before removing distributor (at this step 7). However, it describes a different way of getting to TDC than does the instruction later in the instruction (eg. step 19 which says to set crank at "0" mark and step 59 which says something different again using the "5" mark). So, I am just a little confused. Should I be setting TDC with the same method at each of these steps (step 7, 19 and 59)? And, if so, which method should I use? I had thought I would use the marking on the crank method but then assumed that perhaps I should be always using the "5" mark because I have 22RE? Most of the videos I have seen suggest using the "0" mark.

If someone can explain this to me I would be extremely grateful. Thank you in advance!

Also, I am not intending to replace head gasket as part of this repair. Maybe I should consider but I believe it is ok. I suppose I could replace later if needed. I will endeavour to replace oil pan gasket which I understand can be painful.