Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Pic of my broken flex plate that i thought was rod knock.

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2011, 09:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by peow130
A guy I knew, his cousin had the flywheel blow off his 383 and up through the floor of his 57 chevy truck.
He doesn't have a right foot anymore.
Originally Posted by James Woods
Last I heard, a lot of drag strips require cars to run scatter shields for this very reason.
Exactly the reason for scatter shields..

I remember your original thread about this https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...g-area-232316/

I figured that is what it was, seen a few times when I was a tech at the iota dealer
Old 04-18-2011, 11:11 AM

Originally Posted by 1badtoy

I remember your original thread about this https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...g-area-232316/

I figured that is what it was, seen a few times when I was a tech at the iota dealer
Yeah, if it weren't for you and my friend, i would probably still be scratching my head wondering where that noise was coming from until KABLAM omgwtfmyrightfootBBQ! Thanks again!
Old 11-28-2011, 02:22 AM

New Flex Plate....But Then a New Noise

I realize this topic is old news now. Flexplates on the 5VZFE historically crack around the TC bolt perimeter in more than a few cases due to fatigue. Evidently the stamped-steel of the OEM (and aftermarket) plates are barely adequate for the forces involved over the long haul. SC engines may rush it along, although I have seen no real proof of that.

If TC mounting bolts come loose, etc. that would surely bring it to a head. But this unfortunate disease happens fairly often - after say 125K miles- even to the best-kept trucks.