Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Oil Leaking at Timing Cover Bolts

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2012, 08:49 PM

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
Right on, Buck... I think he'll start a thread and hopefully post it up here so I and others can head over and help him on how to drop that pan and fix it in a day.
Old 03-11-2012, 07:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry to seem so clueless, because I've never started a thread, and I'm still learning how to navigate this site, but a couple of questions to you Californicators, before I begin my journey. You mentioned something about a OEM main seal, I've got the one that came with my timing cover gasket kit, and yes it's a Felpro special. If that's verboten, I guess I need to know. When I first saw the timing chain cover gasket I thought it was mighty thin, like a piece of paper. I called the Toyota parts place and asked if their gasket was more substantial and the goof couldn't tell me. So I doubled up on the Felpros and put a thin film on RTV on and between everything. Truth be told I really don't think the oil is coming from the timing chain gasket. Although the oil pump bolt, main seal and pan gasket now seem to be the most likely suspects.
Didn't have time to go through the whole Build up adventure, but I did scan through it, wish I had of seen it before I started this the last time, but oh well.
But did I catch a reference about highjacking or jacking, if there is some secret to getting this pan out from a 4WD front axle. I would really be interested. That would take a large part of the F@3CX!!! factor out of it for sure.
Thanks again for all the great info, promise to start that thread soon, promise!
Old 03-11-2012, 12:16 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post