Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Injector install gone bad - real bad. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2013, 09:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by JBurt
I would imagine if there was something in your cylinder that did that it is either still there, or mangled some valves on it's way out. A compression test is good and you can rent one free from an auto store, but a leak down test gives you a lot more information. Good luck with whatever it is.

You might have people on here that are close and want a wrenching day.
One way or another I'm going to find out what's going on in there. If the motor gets swapped I'll tear into it just to see what's going on. I'm still waiting on my mechanic buddy to find enough free time to take a look - hopefully today.

I'm no expert but I find it hard to believe injectors alone did this. But then I consider the fuel pouring out of the exhaust with the new injectors and none when the old ones were put back in and I wonder...
Old 10-29-2013, 12:57 PM

Received 108 Likes on 87 Posts
I'd try making an injector tester/cleaner and see if one is stuck open.
I made one using a pump garden sprayer and it works pretty good.
Old 10-29-2013, 01:05 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
liquids do not compress. a cylinder full of fuel would smash that plug easily at rpms. my picture i posted.....nothing did that but heat.

Id test my injector harness first with a noid light. if my wiring was right....Id be leaning towards the injector guy. all speculative until you bust the head off or scope the bore.

Still dont understand why you guys are changing injectors. I've got rv head 268 cam, and header and my stockers are totally happy. I feel alot of smoke has been blown up peoples butts about these injectors.
Old 10-29-2013, 01:23 PM

Received 222 Likes on 163 Posts
Originally Posted by HighLux