Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1988 22RE ignition switch plug pin continuity test check?

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2020, 01:09 PM

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
1988 22RE ignition switch plug pin continuity test check?

Hi! This is my first time posting a technical question on this forum.

I realize and agree that we should not start new, unnecessary threads, but I haven't found a thread that seemed suitable to post my question to, so here I am.

My ‘88 pickup (4x4, 5-speed manual, 22RE, regular cab, base trim, VIN JT4RN63A4J0202499) has been having trouble starting. I am going through the different systems methodically (starting, ignition, fuel delivery, etc) to learn as much as I can and because I think there’s more than one issue going on. That aside for now, I’d like some input on this particular question:
I am attempting to verify the function of the ignition switch. I’ve tested the continuity of this switch per the table show in my FSM (it’s a PDF file, fyi and I don’t know the publication or Toyota ‘part number’ for my particular copy). That table is shown below, and my results from this test are listed immediately below the FSM diagram.

My results from checking my ignition switch plugs per the above FSM diagram are:

8 to 7: continuous
8 to 5: sometimes continuous, sometimes not
7 to 5: sometimes continuous, sometimes not
4 to 2: sometimes continuous, sometimes not.
4 to 1: continuous.
2 to 1: continuous.
9 to 10: continuous in all “Normal” positions (I tested with the key in the ‘Acc’, ‘ON’, and ‘Start’ positions) but not continuous in the “Push” position (which includes the key being in the ‘Lock’ position).

I have a few questions based on my results:
  1. If I’m understanding this diagram correctly, my results for 9 to 10 are the opposite of what the FSM is saying should be true. Am I reading the diagram correctly? - i.e., my switch has failed the continuity check for 9 to 10?