Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Need Good Repair Resources!

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2013, 01:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Need Good Repair Resources!

Hey guys, this is my first post on YotaTech and I am excited!!!

I bought an 1980 Toyota pickup with the 20R and I have a bunch of small things that I want to take care of.

I have a lot of repair experience with older (Pre-nineties) trucks. Specifically I rebuilt a 1986 Jeep Comanche. But I know that it was totally a different wiring system in that.

I just need some good repair manuals, TSB's, and some all around good info to know about this old beast. She is in decent condition, but like with any car/truck even after you have them perfect there is always something that comes up.

I have the 20R stock motor been overhauled (probably) twice now. And I have the 55 Amp Alternator with the 5 pin Voltage reg. I got another fuse box from the junk yard that was in great condition and I plan on soldering it in as a replacement for the original one that is loosing teeth by the minute. I have some charging system problems and some overall wiring problems that I have encountered and I want some really good wiring diagrams that would probably be best represented in the original Toyota mechanic master tech manual. Does anybody know of some good sources or websites that would break down the electrical diagram better than the POS Haynes? the damn Haynes just gives me a headache trying to flip through pages just to find where a common ground is.

Thank you in advance guys and please feel free to bump or suggest anything that might help me.

-Cheo

Old 12-21-2013, 04:47 AM

Received 70 Likes on 58 Posts
Download the FSM for starts from here https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f114...wnload-261385/
Old 12-21-2013, 07:18 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts